Buried Alive


Patricia Smith’s “Skinhead” by pisaquaririse
April 27, 2008, 4:11 pm
Filed under: poem, voices

I was just reading my “Poet’s Companion” trying to jog the muse and I found this poem “Skinhead”–used as an example for an exercise on tone and perspective.  The poem’s speaker is a white supremacist.  The author a woman of color. 

The notes on Patricia Smith following the poem say she won a National Poetry Slam Contest.  I thought “Hmm, maybe she’s got stuff online?”  How awesome: I found the poem!  Youtube sucks for a variety of reasons but this isn’t one of them.  Watch:

 

 

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Incredible poem. Incredible woman. Thanks for this link.

Comment by allecto

Oh my goddess:
“and I was born…and raised…right here.” So powerful! Just shows you how our culture raises and breeds these white people. The poem gave me chills down my spine.

Comment by Lara

I know allecto and Lara–::shivers::

Reading it in print was pretty powerful too. And gotta love that “I know it’s the wrong goddamned finger but fuck you all anyway.”

Comment by pisaquaririse

Ah thank you for the poetry idea. I’ve been feeling decidedly unfunny lately. But not unhappy, so plainly boring.

Comment by m Andrea

What poetry idea is that?

Unfunny? Pssshh. We all have slopes and peaks.
Most of the stuff I make fun of for humor’s sake is really for sanity and survival. If I let it fully register I might Sylvia Plath my ass.
(But lo, I am a coward and waaay too self righteous for the seriously dark plans.)

I just got an idea: some kind of online poetry workshop? The kind where we have little exercises and have to work together to finish pieces. Or something?

Comment by pisaquaririse

I just got an idea: some kind of online poetry workshop? The kind where we have little exercises and have to work together to finish pieces. Or something?

Oh, yes please. I used to go to a women’s writing group down in Sydney but now I’m too far away to get to it. And I’ve not been writing lately at all. I feel very slack. Besides Dissenter and I need more stuff for Spinning Spinsters!!

Comment by allecto

Hmm. Wouldn’t it be good to set up some sort of live chat thing–for immediacy? Or maybe do some sort of e-mail thing–like send each other unfinished pieces and send them on for a different take.
Keep this going people!
I’m shooting from the hip here.

Comment by pisaquaririse

I like the idea of live chat thing. I have msn but I’m not sure how to set up a chat room thingie. I’de rather not do emails as I am on too many email lists already.

Comment by allecto

We have a chat thing for work that’s pretty cool. I’ll look into the setup for it.

Comment by pisaquaririse




Leave a Reply

