Buried Alive


Feminism and Choice by pisaquaririse
February 7, 2008, 3:02 am
Filed under: Interconnected!, WhatAboutMEEEE

I am a feminist.                                                                                                                                                                                                                  I I want equality for women. 

Do you hear that?  *I*/memememe want (what I consider to be) *equality* for (persyns other than myself) women.  We should break down those implications:

1.      I have decided women are in a state of inequality.

2.      I have decided what equality is and thus what a break in equality would look like.

3.      There are women in stories and statistics, whom I have never spoken with, and whom I have *judged* as experiencing/having experienced oppression/wrongdoings.

4.      I have decided for other women that they are living in a patriarchal society.

5.      I have made comments and opined on the condition of reproductive rights, equal pay, child care, family, sex education, the sex industry, beauty standards, etc..and their effects on women as a collection of people whom I have not gotten full consent to do so. 

6.      I have called for change on reproductive rights, equal pay, child care, family, sex education, the sex industry, beauty standards, etc.. when I have yet to hear from all the women that would be affected, not knowing if they agree or if they would have picked the same thing. 

I have taken my total life experiences and knowledge and projected MY view of a better world onto OTHER womyn.  I will likely never speak to or know so much as 10% of the womyn on this planet and yet HERE I AM.  (The audacity!) 

I have assumed some form of choice for other women.    

So PLEASE tell me feminists how YOU have managed to give a rats ass about OTHER women without PRESUMING some of THEIR CHOICE or CONDITION.  PLEASE *someone tell me* how you proclaim FEMINISM, a cause wherein YOU have DECIDED PEOPLE OTHER THAN YOURself-and for whom you DO NOT KNOW-are OPPRESSED, may call other feminists JUDGMENTAL.

AND PLEASE, for the love of Goddess, tell me HOW IT DOES US ANY FRICKIN GOOD to DERAIL a conversation into the ME-GAME when all of a sudden it’s SOMETHING YOU DO that is getting called out.

We don’t/shouldn’t have to agree all the time—but we are ALL engaging in some form of JUDGING here, some form of presumption that has NOT engaged EVERY SINGLE WOMAN involved in the matter.  To try and DEMONIZE each other if the convo turns YOUR direction is HYPOCRITICAL and a COMPLETE WASTE of our energy when we could otherwise be talking about WHY WE FEEL THAT WAY and how to, ohhh-I-dunno, HELP!  

Soooo…  

If you have at ANY point called yourself a FEMINIST or made a statement about/voted for a policy (etc.) that affects WOMEN OTHER THAN YOURSELF whom you DO NOT KNOW/HAVE NOT SPOKEN WITH then YOU TOO have partaken in an act of PRESUMING CHOICE for other women.    

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hadn’t you heard, Pisquari – it’s unladylike to have an opinion, and even more unladylike to think that that opinion should inform your actions in the real world or even, oh horror, affect other people. It is thus the duty of other ladies to pull the recalcitrant one back into line by reminding her how rude it is to be judgemental (the fact that they are making a judgement about judgementalism always escapes them).

It’s also very rude to SHOUT or get frustrated with this ladyfication. You clearly need more work.

Comment by delphyne

“(the fact that they are making a judgement about judgementalism always escapes them).”

Precisely-ism.

“You clearly need more work.”

Are you *judging* MY shouting??? What do YOU know about ME? Maybe I LIKE to SHOUT delphyne! Maybe *I* have figured out exactly HOW to shout and at WHAT decibel level WITHOUT it involving LOUDNESS!

Comment by pisaquaririse

Ladies shout in a whisper. Tsk.

OK, I can’t keep this up. Whatever happened it sounds very annoying. It’s the tactic of the scoundrel to whine about how their opponent is being “judgemental” (as if that was the worst thing in the world) because they know they’ve lost the argument.

Comment by delphyne

It’s no one incident. It’s an accumulation of years, arguments, and, finally, pisaquari getting a blog.

Nothing more 🙂

Comment by pisaquaririse

Thanks.
I needed to hear that today. I mean I rillyrillyrilly needed to hear that today.
Oh, and 11!!eleventy!!

Comment by thebewilderness

You’re welcome!

“Oh, and 11!!eleventy!!”

??

Comment by pisaquaririse

Hee hee, I like this one. I needed to hear this one big time today. Well, really all week.

11!!eleventy is from when people get excited and say stuff like: “I’m so excited!!!!1111!!”

Comment by buggle

Welcome buggle!

Ahhhh–makes sense. How do all the hip phrases pass me by?

Comment by pisaquaririse




Leave a Reply

