Buried Alive


Teacher Vs. Coach/Notary by sargari
November 11, 2007, 2:43 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The school system is infiltrated with teachers who reinforce the sexist, ageist, and racist ideals of this country. Being a mere 23 years old, male, and teaching in a local high school, I encounter ghouls of patriarchy on a daily basis.  Assuming the role of a baseball coach, and thus branded dominator of a group of dominators (young men), my status is somehow heightened within the school environment.  I feel as though I receive more respect than most teachers.  I am often asked “Isn’t that right coach,” as if I am end-all be-all to fact checking. Mind you, they never forget that word “coach”.  Oh now a male coach is in agreement so it must be true. Another example of this same patriarch dynamic would be when a mother tells her child, “I’m going to tell your dad how bad you were when he gets home”. Nothing is true until a male notarizes it.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I thought you were female!

Comment by xochitl

I am a female indeed, xochitl. For some reason this post does not reveal an author name but, if it did, it would not be mine.
Many moons ago, when I started this blog, I actually had the craptastic idea of having *male* additions. That lasted one blog post and this is that one.

I actually talk about this in another thread some where on this blog.

Comment by pisaquaririse




Leave a Reply

